Qatar Fertiliser Company (QAFCO) has long ago recognized the importance of protecting the environment while conducting its business. QAFCO believes that caring for the environment is not only an ethical and legal obligation but also a mechanism for success.

In testimony to its considerable and dedicated efforts towards protection of the environment and prevention of pollution, QAFCO was certified for ISO 14001 in 1997. In appreciation of its role in environment protection, QAFCO also claimed the 1998 GCC award for the Best Industrial Establishment in terms of compliance with Environmental Standards.

QAFCO has since come a long way in its efforts to conserve and preserve the environment, whether it is by maintaining legal compliances in our emissions and discharges or by conducting environmental projects such as deploying artificial reef balls to enhance the marine environment, caretaking of the Al-Besheriya Island, and by providing environmental awareness programs for our young.

QAFCO also earned an award for best public awareness campaign by Qatar Today Green Awards, an initiative that recognises the environmental efforts taken by different organisations in Qatar.

QAFCO has always taken the lead to collaborate study/research initiatives with local universities, provide facilities that will benefit all industries in Qatar, whether it is by conducting the "Study of Residual Chlorine and Chlorinated By products in Mesaieed Industrial Area", or by providing De-NOx technology to all industries in Qatar.

أدركت قافكو منذ زمن بعيد أهمية العمل على حماية البئية خلال القيام بعملياتها، ويأتي إيمان الشركة بضرورة الإعتناء بالبئية ليس فقط من منطلق الإلتزام الأخلاقي أو القانوني، وإنما ينبع ذلك من تفهم قافكو لأهميتها
كآلية للنجاح.

وفي إشارة إلى مراعاة وجهود قافكو المبذولة تجاه حماية البئية والوقاية من أثار التلوث، فقد تم منح الشركة شهادة الأيزو 14001 في العام 1997. وفي تقدير آخر لدورها في حماية البئية، فقد تحصلت قافكو على شهادة دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية كأفضل منشأة صناعية من حيث الإمتثال للمعايير البيئية. 

ومنذ ذلك الحين فقد مضت قافكو بعيداً بجهودها في العمل على حماية البئية والحفاظ عليها، سواء كان ذلك من خلال مراعاة الإلتزامات القانونية في الإنبعاثات وتصريف النفايات الناجمة عن الأنشطة الصناعية المختلفة للشركة، أو عبر قيام الشركة بمشروعات لحماية البئية من مثل توزيع الكرات المرجانية الاصطناعية في منطقة مسيعيد البحرية وذلك للمساهمة في دعم نمو الشعب المرجانية، والاهتمام بجزيرة البشيرية بالإضافة إلى تقديمها للبرامج البيئية التوعوية بين مجموعات الشباب.

كما قدمت أيضاً لقافكو شهادة تقديرية عن أفضل حملة توعية عامة من مجموعة قطر اليوم للنشر والتوزيع، والتي ابتدرت القيام بذلك تقديراً للجهود البيئية المبذولة بواسطة مختلف المؤسسات العاملة في دولة قطر.

وقد اتخذت الشركة دائماً زمام المبادرة تجاه القيام بالدراسات والتعاون البحثي مع الجامعات المحلية وتوفير المعينات والتي من الممكن أن تعود بالفائدة على جميع الأنشطة الصناعية في قطر، سواءً كان ذلك عبر إجراء "دراسة رواسب الكلور في منطقة مسيعيد الصناعية" أو عن طريق توفير تكنولوجيا خفض انبعاث أكاسيد النيتروجين لجميع الصناعات في قطر.